top of page
  • Writer's pictureAutumn Grace

The History of Hymns Pt. 3

Updated: Jul 27


Credit to Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash


One of the most beautiful hymns that Charles Wesley wrote was “Jesus, Lover of My Soul.” It is a glorious hymn that touches on the grace and loving-kindness of Jesus better than many other hymns that have come before and after.

Just like with “Rock of Ages,” a couple of different stories are associated with the writing of the great hymn. Both, most likely, led to the time where Wesley sat down and wrote it in a single day. Though both stories are fascinating and startling, the first is my personal favorite.

Charles Wesley and his brother John, along with a group of Moravian missionaries, were on a ship on the way to Charles’ first missionary trip. Most likely, Wesley didn’t regard them or their faith very closely until they encountered a terrible storm. The wind and sea were vicious and Wesley was sure that the ship was going to go down. “My heart was seized with terror,” he said. (Smith.)

In all respects, such a reaction was human. However, as Wesley looked closely about the deck, he saw the Moravian missionaries were calm and composed. And they were singing. “(the) group of Moravians (were) showing no sign of outward fear. In fact, they were singing…” Right away, this makes me think of Paul and Silas in the jail in Philippia. (Acts 16:25-26.) I wonder if Wesley thought of this too. He said that the Moravians were singing about, “One who loved them and cared for them amidst the storms of life—One who loved them so much He had died on the cross to save them from the guilt of sin and the storm of a Holy God’s wrath.” Just as Toplady (the author of “Rock of Ages") had when he first heard the great Brevint’s sermon, Wesley treasured the memory, often reviving it and reliving it.

The second story that follows closely with the writing of “Jesus, Lover of My Soul,” occurred when Wesley was preaching in Ireland. A group of men there didn’t like the doctrines that he was preaching and proceeded to get their point across with a physical attack against the preacher. Wesley was able to get away and found refuge in a house located on what is now called the Island Band Farm. The farmer’s wife helped hide Wesley in the milkhouse and then went away to appease the angry attackers with refreshments.

When she went back down to the milkhouse, she told Wesley how to get out the rear window and hide under the hedge that ran near a little brook. It was there, while he was crouched in the bushes, that he was inspired to write the hymn about the Savior’s grace and mercy. According to the story, he wrote down the hymn the next day.

While I’m sure that many of us would have lived in fear or bitterness after such things that Wesley endured, the great preacher did not. Instead, he turned his terrifying experiences into a beautiful hymn and shared it with the world. Next time you read or sing the words, think about the man who wrote them and thank God for equipping people like Wesley to write things that can change lives.

Thanks for reading!

I’d love to hear what your favorite hymns are. Please share in the comments!


“Jesus, lover of my soul,

let me to thy bosom fly,

while the nearer waters roll,

while the tempest still is high;

hide me, O my Savior, hide,

till the storm of life is past;

safe into the haven guide,

O receive my soul at last!


Other refuge have I none;

hangs my helpless soul on thee;

leave, ah! leave me not alone,

still support and comfort me.

All my trust on thee is stayed,

all my help from thee I bring;

cover my defenseless head

with the shadow of thy wing.



Plenteous grace with thee is found,

grace to cover all my sin;

let the healing streams abound;

make and keep me pure within.

Thou of life the fountain art;

freely let me take of thee;

spring thou up within my heart,

rise to all eternity.”

29 views10 comments

Recent Posts

See All

10 Comments


Laura Ann
Laura Ann
Jul 31

"proceeded to get their point across" 😄


My favorite hymn is "Now I Belong to Jesus"

Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
Jul 31
Replying to

😂

<3

Like

Guest
Jul 28

Autumn, this was your Grandpa Warner's favorite hymn, and we sang it at his funeral. He testified one time that when he was saved, he felt as if he plunged into the arms of Infinite Love!


Thank you so much for writing about the hymns! One of my favorites is "There Is a Fountain Filled with Blood.". Where would we be without the Cross?


Love you!


Aunt Carolyn

Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
Aug 03
Replying to

Thank you. :)

Like

E. G.  Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Jul 26

Great Is Thy Faithfulness (written by William Runyan!)

The Doxology

A Mighty Fortress Is Our God

It Is Well With My Soul

Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
Jul 27
Replying to

That's so cool! :)

Like

Subscribe

 

  Want to be notified each time I post on my blog? Join me as I unearth artistic gems---those from the past and the present.

Copyright 2024 by Autumn Grace

bottom of page