top of page
  • Writer's pictureAutumn Grace

Interviewing Kari Novilla

Updated: Sep 26


Image Credit to Kari Novilla


This spring, I got the privilege to participate in a local competition of the arts. Before the competitors began performing their pieces, an alumna of the art competition performed Claire De Lune on her harp. I fell in love with her beautiful music and, when the next morning arrived, I looked her up on the internet, found her website (karinovilla.com) and requested to interview her on my blog.

Kari was kind enough to agree and I am pleased to give you the Q&A I conducted with her! Ranging from answers about her own personal experiences to what someone pursuing the arts as a career should be doing and thinking, Kari has given some wonderful stories and tips!



1. Why and how did you decide to become a professional harpist?

I decided to pursue music from a very young age as I felt it was the only outlet where I could truly express myself. 

I began my musical journey on the violin when I was four, later adding the harp when I was seven. Throughout my adolescence, I have explored many different career paths, such as pursuing a career in political science (I was an intern for the political science department at Indiana University during my studies), starting my own bakery business in my spare time, to even having a double major in cytotechnology my freshman year. However, in the end, you must follow your gut instinct, and within me I knew I must become a professional artist. I knew from the beginning it would be a tumultuous path with varying challenges, but in the end, I count myself very lucky that my passion is my vocation as an artist. To be able to traverse the world performing at symphony halls to jazz clubs to community centers, I feel incredibly lucky to live my dream each and every day. 


2. I hear you went to England to study. Why did you chose to go abroad?

I choose to study abroad because I am always looking for new ways to challenge myself - both artistically and personally. Ever since I can remember I always wanted to travel and dreamed of different adventures in Prague, Paris, Florence, Bali, and more. I figured that completing a master's degree abroad would not only allow me to travel and experience new ways of thinking, but it would further push my boundaries and education as a harpist. I chose to go to the Royal Academy of Music in London, United Kingdom, because their master's program aligned best with my ambitions for my career. Their curriculum for harpists is very rigorous, like most prestigious conservatories, but it was different in the way that I had a multitude of mentors to learn from and shadow. 

I had one main professor, the incredible Skaila Kanga, but I also had many other instructors that are in the top of their field in orchestral studies, sight-reading, new music, session work, and more. I was also able to essentially double major in jazz harp (jazz harpists being very rare - even more rare to study with one) with the amazing Park Stickney who further helped me diversify and expand my artistic horizons. The American academic and music programs are different than that in the United Kingdom, but regardless of the differences I learned and grew so much as an artist during my time abroad. 


I think if anyone is presented with an opportunity to travel, whether it be to study, to go on a holiday, or simply feel the impetus to live there, they should jump at the opportunity to leap into the unknown. The world has so much to offer and it will open your mind.


3. What is your favorite thing about having music as your professional career?

One of my favorite things about being a musician is not one day is the same. One day I may be playing with a symphony, another vibing with my jazz ensemble, and the other carting around my harp and electronics equipment to play a new music gig. I count it as a blessing that I wake up and am excited for the day ahead because I absolutely love what I do.



4. What are the hardships and bright spots of being a professional performer?

The 21st century is a very different environment for musicians, especially classical musicians, than it has ever been before in history. In my own opinion, and I have shared this with many up-and-coming musicians as a piece of advice, it is no longer about being the best of the best, it is about being the smartest and working the hardest. Being a solo performer mostly, I've taken it upon myself to aim to hustle like no other because it is no longer about being a great musician, but a great businesswoman. The music world is either feast or famine when it comes to gigs, so it is important to plan accordingly and aim high. That being said, my ambition has led to some amazing performance opportunities across the world. I have been very lucky with my array of performances (from performing for Google, to playing as a soloist at the Kennedy Center) but it takes an extreme amount of dedication and tenacity to be a professional. Sometimes, you may get a life-changing opportunity purely based off of luck and being at the right place, the right time. However, I firmly believe with a sense of gratitude, humility, and diligence, anything is possible if you believe in yourself and your art.  



5. Why would you recommend an artistic career? 

Though each career can be very different from the next, it is a gift to be able to be an artist and to create. Whether you become a professional or if it is just a hobby, continue to pursue your art because it is so important for your voice to be heard in the world. 


6. Do you have any tips for young artists who aren't sure whether or not they should pursue an artistic career?

You need to be able to dig deep within when faced with obstacles, either in life or in your career. For me I always try and look at the positive if a gig, job, or opportunity does not pan out for me. If it is meant to be, it will be - this mindset has helped me be at peace no matter the challenge or triumph.


In the world of social media, it can be difficult to not subscribe to the comparative culture we live in today’s society. However, as an artist, you have to believe in your art and your message - that your art is needed, unique, and authentic. Like anything in life, you have to work incredibly hard to bring your vision for your art and your life to fruition. It takes many hours of practicing alone in solitude, hours of planning and producing, and many other sacrifices in order to make your dreams as an artist a reality. If one is interested in an artistic career they have to be ready for crazy but thrilling life! 



I hope you enjoyed reading about Kari and learning a little bit about the life that comes with a career in the arts.

Thanks for reading and be sure to check out her beautiful website at karinovilla.com


(Did you notice that she plays jazz harp? How cool is that??)

43 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

6 Comments


Laura Ann
Laura Ann
Jul 17

How cool to hear from a professional artist! Kari seems like such an interesting person. Thank you so much, Autumn!

Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
Jul 20
Replying to

Of course! She was a very neat person! :) I was super happy to do this. You're welcome!

Like

E. G.  Runyan
E. G. Runyan
Jul 13

What a cool interview!

Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
Jul 13
Replying to

Thanks, Emma! <3

Like

Guest
Jul 12

This was a very enlightening article, Autumn! Very inspiring! I'm glad you had this opportunity!

Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
Jul 13
Replying to

Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Like

Subscribe

 

  Want to be notified each time I post on my blog? Join me as I unearth artistic gems---those from the past and the present.

Copyright 2024 by Autumn Grace

bottom of page