top of page
  • Writer's pictureAutumn Grace

The Get to Know Ya Book Tag

Updated: Apr 15



E. G. Runyan, a fellow blogger tagged me on this book tag challenge so, to please her, (and tell you a little bit more about myself) I will oblige! Without further ado, the Get to Know Ya Book Tag Challenge.


Your favorite book of all time.



The Lord of the Rings. While I honestly could use this book for every question except # 2, 4, 9 and 10, I will endeavor to restrict the book to this answer. I cannot say enough about it. Granted, while it takes time and an honest desire to read (and finish) it, it is so worth it. It is a heroic, heart-wrenching tale that, frankly, I feel privileged to have been introduced to.



Your favorite book five years ago.



Nancy Drew: The Hidden Staircase. This book, with its mansions, underground tunnels, and winding labyrinth of hidden staircases, fascinated me when I was younger. I'm afraid I haven't read it in a while, though.



Your favorite duology/trilogy series.




Ballet Shoes and Dancing Shoes. While these aren't exactly "Book 1" "Book 2" type books, the setting is the same in both books, and a few of the characters in Ballet Shoes interact with the ones in Dancing Shoes. I have always enjoyed their "behind-the-scenes" view of ballet and acting in 20th century England.



The last book you read.




Warriors: Forest of Secrets. I am making my way through the 1st Warriors series and currently just finished book three. (There's six.) While they are not at the top of my favorites list, they are rather interesting and I'm always trying to expand my book knowledge.



The last book of poetry you read.




The Everyman Anthology of Poetry for Children. (It was much more mature than a "children's" book.) While I didn't read the whole thing, I read most of the poems in this book and enjoyed all of them. Some of them were quirky and neat, and others were beautiful and inspiring.



A book that most influenced your life.



The Hobbit. I'm going to choose this book because it technically "led" me into reading The Lord of the Rings which definitely has most influenced my life.




A book that made you cry.



Mistmantle: The Rage Tide. I have read this hard-to-find book twice and both times, I have found myself crying at the end. It's a beautiful tale of sacrifice and love, and it is more than easy to forget the main characters are animals.



A book that made you laugh.



Ranger's Apprentice: The Ruins of Gorlan. With its dry humor and witty, sarcastic characters, I can't help but laugh whenever I read this book (or any!) Ranger's Apprentice Books.


9. A character you'd like to be for a day



Rosiland Penderwick. The Penderwick Books are a series of adventures that four main sisters experience in their day-to-day life. The oldest of these four main sisters (I say "main" because more eventually come along), Rosiland, is always trying to hold things together while doing some manipulating of her own.



A book you did not finish.



Rebecca. While I had heard that this book had a promising mystery, I was not able to get past the first couple of chapters. This annoys me greatly because there's nothing better than a clean, satisfying mystery. However, I believe that someday, I'll get around to reading it.



A book you are excited to read.



Loch Monster. My friend E. G. Runyan, is currently in the process of self-publishing her book Loch Monster. I am more than excited to read the Scottish tale and cannot wait for the release date! You can find out about her book here! Runyan, E. G.

So, what are your favorite books? Comment below and tell me! I'd love to know! Thanks for reading.

Deus Benedicat tibi

(God bless you)



39 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

6 commenti


lizziehexam
17 apr

Ahh, someone else who knows Noel Streatfield! I read QUITE a few of her books when I was younger (and quite a few Nancy Drew books, as well; nice to see her here too!). One of my favorite Noel Streatfield books is Traveling Shoes (also titled Apple Bough) - have you read that one? ~ Lizzie Hexam

Mi piace
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
18 apr
Risposta a

Yes! I love Noel's books so much! Ah! No, I haven't. I should check that out and see if my library has it!

Mi piace

Laura Ann
Laura Ann
02 mar

Ooo, I should read the hobbit at some point. :)


Some of my favorite books are...

  • The Campfire Girls series

  • Jane of Lantern Hill

  • An Old Fashioned Girl


Mi piace
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
02 mar
Risposta a

Nice!! I like an Old Fashioned Girl too!

Mi piace

E. G.  Runyan
E. G. Runyan
02 mar

I LOVE these books, Autumn!

And I'm am so, so honored to have Loch Monster on it! Thank you!!!

Mi piace
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
02 mar
Risposta a

Thanks, E. G! Of course!! And I really am looking forward to reading it ❤️

Mi piace

Subscribe

 

  Want to be notified each time I post on my blog? Join me as I unearth artistic gems---those from the past and the present.

Copyright 2024 by Autumn Grace

bottom of page