top of page
  • Writer's pictureAutumn Grace

What is Childhood?



I wrote this poem not too long ago on a sudden inspiration to write a poem about my childhood. As I detailed events, I began to realize I wasn't just writing about childhood but was trying to define it. I found myself asking questions such as what is childhood?


And when did it end?




Childhood is hard to call a time, and more easily called events.

Childhood is not two to twelve, but long hikes and huge, open tents.


Childhood is an old gray truck whose air doesn’t work, and doors won’t lock.

Childhood is a summer day and the pool and a new box of chalk.


Childhood is the magical places we went, and hope to again:

Mountain rivers, grueling hikes, Carolina beaches and vacations. 


Childhood is sleeping in bunk beds in cabins, and bunks in RVs.

Or playing in forts made of cushions, then climbing to forts in the trees.


Childhood consists of leaving for trips, about an hour too late,

Always stopping for breaks and driving all night and still getting there late.

 

Childhood is stopping for donuts before a big, road trip begins,

And often being told to wear socks on the floors of motels and inns.


Childhood is learning how to lie and wishing you hadn’t, after.

Childhood is doing math while fighting the urge to be a cheater.


Childhood is spankings and time-outs and freezing at a full name call.

Childhood is trying new things, like climbing trees, then taking a fall.


To wrap it up, childhood isn’t an age or a height or a grade.

It is the time before a carefree and innocent world begins to fade.


And when that time has passed, and the flag of childhood has been furled,

We remind ourselves what it was, and why we need children in the world.



I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Did you like it?

Thanks for reading. :)

107 views26 comments

26 Comments


Guest
Sep 11

Outstanding and exceptionally reflective for an author of your age.


Grandpa, not 0f your age...

Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
4 days ago
Replying to

Thank you, Grandpa! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and i'm sorry I never saw this comment!! :O

Like

Guest
Sep 10

That so clearly defines childhood - thank you for writing this, Autumn! It was beautiful how it reminded me of my childhood and how precious it is. That last line was beautiful.

Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
Sep 10
Replying to

You're welcome! I'm so glad that you liked it. Thanks for reading! <3

Like

Laura Ann
Laura Ann
Sep 03

This is just beautiful, Autumn. Just reading about childhood makes me feel more relaxed! 😄 And the rhyming in this is so fun!

Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
Sep 03
Replying to

Aw, thank you so much, Laura! Yes, lol, I was pleased with how the rhyming turned out. 😄

Like

Guest
Sep 02

This brought tears to my eyes as I remembered you doing all these wonderful things. How has the time passed so quickly?

Love, Mom

Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
Sep 02
Replying to

Thank you so much for reading!❤️ I love seeing comments from you on my blog!

Like

Ronnie Woodrow
Ronnie Woodrow
Sep 02

This was a really neat and special poem! Well done! It was amazing!


Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
Sep 02
Replying to

Thanks, Ronnie! Glad that you enjoyed it! :)

Like

Subscribe

 

  Want to be notified each time I post on my blog? Join me as I unearth artistic gems---those from the past and the present.

Copyright 2024 by Autumn Grace

bottom of page