top of page
  • Writer's pictureAutumn Grace

Inklings // May 2024

Updated: Aug 28



While I am not finished with my short series on Beatrix Potter, this week has been busy, and I haven't had the time I've wanted to properly prepare a good article! Instead, I will go ahead and post something else that I have been working on. I hope you enjoy it and please look forward to next week's post, continuing to explore the life and works of Beatrix Potter!

Recently, I stumbled across a new blog that is quickly becoming one of my favorites! Along the Brandywine is chock-full of book rants, movie reviews, and an uplifting of beauty and Christian standards. In her post here, Heidi created yet another monthly challenge for her Inklings series. I thought I'd try it out! Here are the rules for any fellow bloggers who are interested in doing the same!


"At any time during the month, on your own blog, post a scene from a book or film that matches the prompt, including a link back here in your post."

This month's prompt is a scene from a book or a movie that includes a pearl necklace. My choice is from the TV show Hercule Poirot, based on Agatha Christie's famous character.



In the episode, called "The Jewel Robbery at the Grand Metropolitan," Poirot, while on vacation in Brighton, meets an actress who possess a famous strand of pearls.




Of course, as soon as one is introduced to her and her famous piece of jewelry, one knows that a robbery is soon to follow. Poirot becomes involved in the case of the missing strand of pearls---even though he's by the seaside to avoid such excitement.

Needless to say, he is able to solve the case in just a matter of days and, as always, to notice the miniscule things that solve the case---such as dust on a hat, or a dab of makeup on the side of an actor's face. It was definitely a good episode.

While on the subject of the Hercule Poirot mysteries, I recommend the whole series. They are extremely enjoyable, mostly clean mysteries (there is murder in some, and the occasional swear word). Poirot is a wonderful character---probably Christie's finest---and his actor, David Suchet, is a great choice for the part.

I also enjoy the main theme of the TV series. It perfectly portrays the mystery and suspense that the stories hold. If you want to listen to the theme, I have included the link below. I hope that listening to some of it may get you to watch the series---or at least a few of the episodes!



61 views11 comments

Recent Posts

See All

11 Comments


queen13movies
May 21

Hello, there, fellow mystery fan! I've seen a couple episodes of Poirot and really have fun with them (Hastings cracks me up!) so I'm always looking to watch more. I agree, that opening sequence is iconic!

Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
May 21
Replying to

Hi! Yeah, aren't they great? :) Glad you liked the article and yes, the opening scene is so awesome.

Like

lizziehexam
May 14

Ooh, I love your selection. I have not seen any of the Poirot show (or read any of the books), but I would like to! (Interestingly, I believe that the show had the same scriptwriter (Clive Exton) and the same composer (Anne Dudley) as Jeeves and Wooster, my favorite TV show - have you ever seen it?) ~ Lizzie Hexam

Edited
Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
May 14
Replying to

Thank you, Lizzie! I'm glad you enjoyed this. :) Ooh, that's interesting. No, I haven't seen that show, but that's so cool that they have the same scriptwriter and composer!

Like

Laura Ann
Laura Ann
May 10

Ah, this was so fun, Autumn! And I am so excited to check out the Hercule Poirot Show! I love mystery stories but I have a hard time finding ones that are clean and not super dark. Thank you so much for sharing about it! I had no idea it existed. XD

Like
Laura Ann
Laura Ann
May 15
Replying to

Oooo! Yes, great idea!

Like

belegthebrave
May 10

My little sister and I watched the entire Poirot TV show last summer! Actually, it's the only TV show I've watched beginning to end and the episodes are SO good!


I love the main theme so much! It sets up the entire vibe of the story that's about to be told. The music is so fantastic.


Great post, Autumn! I'm finding out that we're liking so many of the same things, and that's just wonderful.

Like
Autumn Grace
Autumn Grace
May 11
Replying to

Ooh, that sounds so fun, Julie! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! <3

I know, I love it when themes are great! Thanks, I am so glad you enjoyed the post.

❤️

Like

Subscribe

 

  Want to be notified each time I post on my blog? Join me as I unearth artistic gems---those from the past and the present.

Copyright 2024 by Autumn Grace

bottom of page